Fall Quarter 2007

Well, I’ve made it through the Fall Qtr. Here is the verdict:

Summer Intensive, Biblical Hebrew (the language of the Old Testament) – B. I’ll have you know that she turned in a C in this class and I had to remind her that she had already advised me that I had earned a B. She corrected it. Amen. This class was amazingly hard. 26 chapters in 3 weeks (5 days per week and 4 hours per day).

Intro to Hebrew Lit aka Hebrew Bible – B. This professor is very benevolent. I still owe a paper in the class and somehow I got a B. God is good. I am still going to turn in the paper at some point, I wonder if that paper will bring my grade up or down. Maybe I should just leave well enough alone.

Fall Biblical Hebrew – C+. I have to retake the Final at some point. But I figure if I can get a C the same quarter I have a miscarriage and a cancer scare that I’m not doing half bad. Plus this class is at 8 a.m. and I am not the morning girl. I have devised a plan to meet with a classmate weekly and study to catch me up enough to retake the final and attend the reading group in the Spring.

Public Church, Part 1 – Incomplete. Yes, the dreaded ‘I’ which all U of C Divinity students have warned me against. Thank God they exist. I still owe Dr. G a critical review of a MLK speech and a final paper on Public Theology. 

What I learned is that I really can psyche myself out. Not good. I really do have the ability to immobilize myself with fear and that I just push too hard. Life was rough last quarter and that’s about it.

2 thoughts on “Fall Quarter 2007

  1. You did great, girl! I know how hard school is when you’re married with a child. And you had some HARD classes! Good for you. What classes are you taking this semester?

  2. Thank you!!! This semester I am taking Black Theology (great class so far!), Public Church 2 (great discussion, interesting books) and Colloquium which is the required class for us first year MDiv. I like Colloquium b/c its our chance to get together once per week and talk.

Leave a Reply

