Sex

Yes, sex. I said it. Sex is very important to me. It has been for a very long time. I think sometimes that people don’t think that Christians should talk about it. And when we do talk about it they expect us to be scolding and figure pointing. Ugh. God created this fabulous goodness and we of all people need to talk about it! Who better? We should talk about more than anyone else. In my opinion,

Our children should know more and first! We don’t need to put our kids out there to get played. Give them the tools to counter some of that ridiculous mis-information

Our marriages and our bedrooms should be healthier and hotter. Get what you want, give what they need and make sure that chandelier is anchored! How can your spouse know what you need unless you talk about it? You both deserve to be happy so get yours. Quit playin’, quit frontin’ and speak up. And if its good,  say so!

We should be teaching the classes!

So I’m going to write about it and I’m going to talk about it and I’m going to say my piece.

Love is beautiful, marriage is beautiful and sex rocks!

I have a lot to say. I’ll try to keep it clean but I also want you to know how good it can be to have the ‘legal’ as I like to call it.

If you are not married, hold onto that! That’s interest compounded daily, there are penalties for early distribution of the 401(k), homie. Yeah, its difficult, duh. But embrace your sexuality and your hotness. Don’t look at is as deprivation. Be glad you can feel it because you have something to look forward to. Ride the wave, feel the heat and write poem or a letter to your future spouse. Walk around with a smile on face and let people wonder what is up with you and why on earth there is steam rising from your scalp. Ripe fruit is better. So hold up, gym shoe. Let the oven pre heat and turn that skillet down to simmer. Put your crockpot on low and let it marinate, let it steep because it’ll taste better.

No need to pass all that precious goodness out to fools who a) won’t appreciate your cooking, b) are not worthy to sit at your table and/or c) aren’t interested in sticking around to get to know the chef. You don’t have to give samples either. Us who served ours early can tell you the ‘legal’ is much better. Better for your heart, your mind, your health, your happiness… So, do your best. You can start again if need be. You won’t regret it…

Let it simmer, baby.

Galileo by The Indigo Girls

This spoke to me. I think the chorus caught my attention but the song is very compelling:

Galileo’s head was on the block
The crime was looking up for truth
And as the bombshells of my daily fears explode
I try to trace them to my youth

And then you had to bring up reincarnation
Over a couple of beers the other night
And now I’m serving time for mistakes
Made by another in another lifetime

How long till my soul gets it right
Can any human being ever reach that kind of light
I call on the resting soul of Galileo
King of night vision, king of insight

And then I think about my fear of motion
Which I never could explain
Some other fool across the ocean years ago
Must have crashed his little airplane

How long till my soul gets it right
Can any human being ever reach that kind of light
I call on the resting soul of Galileo
King of night vision, king of insight

I’m not making a joke, you know me
I take everything so seriously
If we wait for the time till all souls get it right
Then at least I know there’ll be no nuclear annihilation
In my lifetime I’m still not right

I offer thanks to those before me
That’s all I’ve got to say
Cause maybe you squandered big bucks in your lifetime
Now I have to pay
But then again it feels like some sort of inspiration
To let the next life off the hook
But she’ll say look what I had to overcome from my last life
I think Ill write a book

How long till my soul gets it right
Can any human being ever reach the highest light?
Except for Galileo God rest his soul
(Except for the resting soul of Galileo)
King of night vision, king of insight

How long
(till my soul gets it right)
[til we reach the highest light]
How long
(til my soul gets it right)
[‘til we reach the highest light]

More about the Summer

Lord willing and the creek don’t rise (My granny would chuckle), I’d like to get a few things done around the homestead as well:

  1. Clean Sweep!
  2. Garage Sales – one at the beginning of Summer, one at the end of Summer and a Fall one.
  3. Make my yard green.
  4. Make my backyard pretty. Create the sanctuary. Create a fun place for Lo to party.
  5. Backyard BBQ or two.
  6. Host Iron Chef African America – Dueling Grills
  7. Buy a grill or two.
  8. Fix up Lawrence’s room
  9. Avon! Finish online classes, get some fundraisers scheduled…
  10. Find Lolo a pre-school.
  11. Lolo’s 3rd B-day party
  12. Cook.
  13. Target weight 125
  14. More Hebrew
  15. Super Hero Body – use the track, yoga, pilates, stretchy bands, dance class, flexibility exercises, martial arts
  16. Paint
  17. Poetry
  18. Journal here more often
  19. Wife
  20. More time with Lo, lots of outside play, potty training and pre-schoolin’.

I will endeavor to report back with updates (and possibly post a few pictures) on the aforementioned items.

Create-Your-Own Summer Internship

After all I’ve been through this quarter I decided that I would not do C.P.E. (Clinical Pastoral Education) this summer. C.P.E. is basically an chaplaincy internship. They can be done at a hospice, hospital, nursing home, community center, etc. I want to do hospice but not this time. I’m not ready. I need to heal and recover and I want a summer to do me. So I sat down with Pastor AJ and put together a plan. I’ve added a few things to the list since then:

  • Launch the Women’s Group
  • Launch the Resume/Job Posting Ministry
  • Community Partnerships – Angel’s Touch, BIAMA, City Council Meetings
  • Preaching – Once per month
  • Teach a Bible Study – Once per month
  • Pastoral Care – Office hours twice per week
  • Shadowing PAJ – Go with AJ to do ministry stuff and talk about what to and how to and when to, etc.
  • Update the church website and get the blog going.
  • Get people in place to do the administration stuff after while I am doing my field placement next year.

That ought to learn me and make the summer fly by. I’m nervous about preaching and teaching. I’m afraid I will not be good but I also know it will be okay.

A Plug for H.O.P.E. Ministry

Deacons Walter and Marsha Peeler are on business with H.O.P.E. Ministry. If you email them and get on their mailing list you will get one to two devotionals per day that will not only keep you off the roof but will inspire you to represent Christ, handle your business and grab a brother or sister that’s already missed a beat.

Here’s the latest one:

                                            Disappointments

Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but a longing fulfilled is a tree of life. – Proverbs 13:12

Life is filled with disappointments. Many of God’s greatest servants experienced deep disappointment in their journeys of faithfulness to God. Joseph, after spending years as a slave and in jail for crimes that he did not commit, revealed deep disappointment when he was forgotten another two years in prison. John the Baptist, when awaiting execution, doubted whether Jesus was, in fact, the Christ because he was sitting there awaiting his death. Elijah, losing all hope and despondent to the point of death, asked God to take his life in the desert; and Peter, who left his fishing business and invested three years of his life only to watch his Savior crucified, wondered whether the purpose of those three years could be justified.

When life doesn’t add up, it leaves the heart sick. When we have done all we know to do and the formula has not worked, it leaves us questioning. These are times that try the very souls of men. There is no human sense to be made of it. We are left with a choice: to cling or not to cling. There are times when holding on to our Master’s robe is all that we can do. It is all that He wants us to do.

The heights by great men reached and kept

Were not obtained by sudden flight;

But they, while their companions slept,

Were toiling upward in the night.

Standing on what too long we bore,

With shoulders bent and downcast eyes,

We may discern-unseen before-

A path to higher destinies!

~Longfellow

There is only one answer to life’s disappointments. Like the psalmist, we must “Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; He is my fortress, I will not be shaken” (Ps. 62:5-6).

But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness. (Heb.3:13)

DEACON WALTER & MARSHA PEELER
H.O.P.E. MINISTRY
MISSION STATEMENT:
HELPING OTHER PEOPLE TO ENDURE
prayer lets you speak to God; meditation lets God speak to you.

http://www.hopeminstry1@yahoo.com

Contact them if you want to get on the mailing list.

Strugglin’ Like a Mug!

The heights by great men reached and kept

Were not obtained by sudden flight;

But they, while their companions slept,

Were toiling upward in the night.

Standing on what too long we bore,

With shoulders bent and downcast eyes,

We may discern-unseen before-

A path to higher destinies!

~Longfellow

Prayer:

Lord, please, help me and my lazy, strugglin’, tail to succeed. I desire deeply to represent you and myself well but right now I just want to lay down and never get out of bed again. I desire good grades, accolades, notoriety and stuff. But the power and motivation are lacking. Please Lord, help me to do what needs to be done to get me where you want me to be. And thank you so much for grace and mercy in the meantime. Help me, please.

In Jesus’ Name.

Amen.