Our Deepest Fear

The other day my mother called me and asked me to find that quote from Akeelah and the Bee. I immediately knew what she meant. Today I found the original quote (see below), the book it came from, and the author’s website. Another thing Mom wants me to do is frame the quote and bring it to her. I’ll do that and maybe one better. Maybe I’ll get her to the book too. I’ll have to take a look at it and decide. I’m so glad she called me and asked me to do this. Here’s the full quote:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” – Marianne Williamson, A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of A Course in Miracles.

Part of the above quote is painted on the wall in Dr Larabee’s office in Akeelah and the Bee.

“What does it mean?.

“That I’m not supposed to be afraid.”

“Afraid of what?”

“Afraid of…me.”

Its amazing how often we hide our talents out of fear. Fear of failure, fear of ridicule, fear of success. When we hide our talents, we live beneath our purpose. The repercussions of hiding out are farther reaching than our own sad pile of “couldas” and “shouldas.” When we hide out, we not only hurt ourselves but we also deprive the world of the gifts that God placed in us. God gives us gifts and those gifts are meant to be shared because God given gifts change lives.

“Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God.”

Each breakthrough, each triumph, each failure, each falling down and getting up is another step in the long journey of walking into our purpose. The best thing about it is that we don’t have to walk by ourselves. God is always there teaching and guiding (like Dr Larabee only better). And to make it fun, God sends us friends who share our interests and desires and who are willing to travel with us on the journey(Like Javier and Georgia).

So why not get started or start again? Say a prayer, listen for instructions and get to steppin’.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akeelah_and_the_Bee

One thought on “Our Deepest Fear

  1. This is so moving, so well done! I saw Akeelah and the Bee during the darkness of Yasha’s early life. I was scared of everything, and this movie was like a beacon. And that quote! That is me. At 40 years old, I fear all I know how to do well is hold back. That is the man with the one talent. It is as hard to escape as tar; quicksand.

    Thank you for sharing. God bless you!
    love, Angie

Leave a Reply

